The community of it…

And this is what I love about community gardening: An old-timer watched as I pounded a stake into the ground, nodded to me to hold on, and came back with a metal stake as a sort of hole starter. His English was as bad as my Russian, but I watched and understood and was delighted when he kindly helped me with my green bean trellis project. And, of course, there was the smile and a universal thank you. Think I’m going to enjoy my gardening neighbor.

Planted today: Long beans, pole beans (many varieties), wax beans, radar beans, beets, Swiss chard, spinach, onions, carrots and radishes. That took up about a quarter of the plot. (Yes, it’s yard-sized.)

-Christy

Leave a Reply

