Mystery – or creative quandary – solved

Eureka, I’ve got it! (Maybe.) At least it seems clear this morning. Been mulling over how to tell my sexual harassment and cyberstalking story – this for my grad school creative writing project. A straight narrative doesn’t work, I think – although I took an expository and straight narrative approach, with embedded pdf files, in a separate (forthcoming) document.

But this morning, while in the hypnotic state of awakening, one foot floating in the expressionistic dream world and the other lassoed by an about-to-unfold day, it hit me: Conversations.

Conversations with each of the people involved, a monologue of sorts. I’m thinking one part Chuck Palahniuk’s “Rant,” another part Joseph Heller’s “Catch 22,” another part Eve Ensler’s “Vagina Monologues,” a splash of Nancy Friday’s “My Secret Garden” – with some Anton Chekhov and Raymond Carver thrown in, as inspiration, too.

I think, after puzzling over this, the structure is – finally – forming. Will post some of the work as the project moves along. Meanwhile, got two feature stories due and I’ve got to hop to. After coffee and a walk, that is.

(If you’re in the PDX area this weekend, Bite of Oregon looks worth checking out.)

-Christy

Leave a Reply

